Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Monday, September 22, 2008

Today is the last day of summer and the first day of fall… I was up early this morning so I could strip the bed and make a path for the maids visit. I never know if they will show up early or late so I don’t want to be caught in bed… I washed two loads of laundry, pulled more weeds, fixed supper, and cleaned up the kitchen… I went up and visited with Josh, when he came home from Vo Tech. He had the night off from his job at the Family Dollar Store. He has been working there for a year now. He said he was really enjoying Vo Tech… I am happy that Dancing With the Stars is back on television. I am going to go watch it now… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home