Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Happy Birthday Edie!!! Edie is a friend in Indiana… I have been busy today, now to remember what I was busy doing. I hosted the DASNI chat started getting the guest room ready for our guest next month. I washed the sheets and comforter, and pillow shams, helped Dave to start cleaning the garage. Maybe I supervised him more than anything and helped Dave fix supper… Tonight I popped some corn and went outside and watched the guys fly their planes. I checked on the okra in the garden and it wasn’t quite ready to be picked yet. We are getting some nice bell peppers now. One of these days soon I will make us some stuffed peppers… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home