Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Thursday, May 01, 2008

Happy 9th Anniversary Kenny and Kathy!!! Happy Birthday Martha!!! Kenny and Kathy are our kids in Piedmont, Oklahoma. Martha is our friend in Bethany, Oklahoma…We went to town today to get groceries at Aldi’s and then to the TLC Nursery. I got a nice hanging basket of Petunia, more tomato plants, Clematis, and a Chinese Pistache tree to replace a Japenses Maple tree that w ae had replaced twice so have given up on having one of them… Tonight was Dr. Mitch’s chat and we had a great turn out again… We are having bad weather in the state but so far we are all okay… Kathy came down to visit and ate peanuts in the shell with Dave… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home