Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Thursday, June 07, 2007

Happy Birthday Susan!!! Susan is a friend in Canada… Dave left early this morning for an eye appointment. He has been having problems with his eye. I hope it isn’t anything serious. He has been referred to a specialist… I fixed lunch, hosted chats, folded laundry, read our local weekly newspaper, and fixed supper. We had radishes, peas, squash, and green beans out of our garden… Tonight is Dr. Mitch’s chat in the Dr. Mitch’s chat room... I have had my scooter now for a year and I have put many miles on it. I am sure glad I have it. I went up to see Heather, Sammy, and Teddy. Sammy likes it when I give him a ride on my scooter… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home