Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Sunday, June 15, 2008

Happy Father’s Day, to all the Fathers… We left today right after I was the church service on television to spend Father’s Day at Kerry and Erin’s home. David, Lori, Chris, Jenny, Jake, Trevor, Madison, Macey, Barbara Ruth, and Dave and I all enjoyed a cook out with homemade ice cream and most everyone enjoyed the pool… We didn’t get home till late then we went up to Kenny and Kathy’s to spend some time with them. Josh and Heather were there too. I got special time with all my family today. And the Father’s enjoyed their Father’s Day… Thank you Kerry and Erin for opening up your home for all of us… I called Chip and Sharon… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home