Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Sunday, October 21, 2007

This morning I watched church services on TV and after the DASNI chat this afternoon I watched several movies… Looking forward to tonight’s baseball game. I always need something to look forward too… Cleaned some more windows, sure will be glad when I am done. Dave has been cleaning the windows and screens on the outside of the house. After he washes them I go along behind him and clean them with windex and shine them… I saw a beautiful sunset tonight… I lost all my e-mail addresses when my hard drive crashed, so please would all my family and friends send me an e-mail so that I can add you to my address book. Thank you… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home