Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Thursday, October 18, 2007

Thanks to Kats in Atlanta, Georgia and Sandy in Ohio for visiting Mary’s Place and signing my guest book at Dave had two doctor appointments today so I got plenty of ME time… I dusted our bedroom, cleaned the bathroom, hosted the DASNI chat, and did a load of laundry. We have skipped two days of going to tone. I hope tomorrow we can get back into it because I feel guilty when I miss going… Kenny and Kathy came down tonight. We had beans and cornbread. Kenny’s foot is really swollen; he has an appointment with the doctor tomorrow. I had lost the sound on my computer but Kathy was able to get it back for me. Thank you Kathy… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma.


Post a Comment

<< Home