Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Friday, December 31, 2004

It is the last day of 2004 and I will have to say it has been a very good year for us. I am hoping next year will be even better… I think I am starting to feel a little better but the coughing and wheezing just won’t leave… I went outside this evening for some fresh air and while I was out there I could see the cows along the fence across the highway. I wish I were closer so I could really watch them… I didn’t do much today just hosted chat and fixed supper… I got a call this morning from friend Martha and they were only a few hours from being back home from California… I am wishing for all of you a very Happy New Year… Goodnight all… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home