Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Tuesday, December 28, 2004

Happy Birthday Lucy!!! Lucy is Dave’s sister in Huntington, West Virginia… This morning Dave and I left right after breakfast and went to David and Lori’s to spend the day… We got to visit with David and Lori, Chris, Jake, Trevor, Madison and Macey and Lori’s Dad and Faye and Erin also were there. We had a good visit with them and David gave us some honey and shared a bag of Black Sunflower seeds with us until he gets to the feed store. Thanks David
… On our way home we stopped at Home Depot so Dave could look at their storage buildings and then we went to Aldi’s to pick up a few groceries… I am feeling very tired tonight… Goodnight all… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home