Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Sunday, July 04, 2010

Happy Birthday America!!! We went to David and Lori’s this afternoon. It was rainy but we celebrated Lori’s birthday anyhow. I have never seen so much food before and I am glad none of you could see my desert plate. It was sinful… I gave Lori her Lava Lava and she loved it… We saw the end of the fireworks in Piedmont and they are shooting them off all over our neighborhood. It sure is making my dogs nervous… I am sitting on that special heating pad that I have that water runs through it. I can’t think of the name of it. I go from ice to this. I am such a big baby, I just want this pain gone… Kenny and Kathy will be by later… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home