Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

This morning Dave had an appointment to see John about his hearing aide. Come to find out that they gave him a new hearing aide without setting it. It is no wonder that he hasn’t been able to hear me for the past two weeks. GRRRR… My scooter quit on me again so today they came and picked it up and gave me a loaner… I have played pogo most of the day. I took time out for our DASNI chat… Tonight we had breakfast for supper… It was in the upper 70’s today with winds gusting to 40. I would like to go outside but can’t handle the wind… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home