Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Monday, August 03, 2009

Last night we were out visiting with the neighbors and I gave little Amelia a ride on my scooter. She is eight months old now and has two teeth; she fell asleep in my arms. Marley is usually the one I take for a ride. She was outside last night too. She is such a sweetie… I helped clean up the kitchen and fixed supper. We had okra and it was yummy… The nurse called today and Dave is to go back on the Indomethacin for the gout. This is the drug that can damage his kidney but they will do lab work on Thursday to be sure it is ok… We had a stormy night and got more rain. The hot summer has returned, it was in the upper 90’s today… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home