Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Tuesday, April 07, 2009

I took a few days off from journaling. I just didn’t feel like doing it… This morning we left early to go vote and then to see the allergist. I was there for quite awhile. I found out I am allergic to quite a few things, grass, weeds, trees, dust, and etc… After the allergist we went to Tinker and got our medications. We had an hour and half wait there. Then we went to the commissary and after that we got some lunch at Subway… We have new neighbors behind us and they have put in a motorcycle motocross track and you should see my windows, they are covered in dust. None of us are very happy about it… I called Sandy in Ohio… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home