Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Sunday, February 03, 2008

Happy Birthday George!!! George is my brother in Louisville, Kentucky… Happy Birthday Morris!!! Morris is a DASNI friend in Houston, Texas
Thanks to Janerae in Ohio for visiting Mary’s Place and signing my guest book at … It was a beautiful day. It was 70 degrees and I got outside as soon as the DASNI chat was over and enjoyed it. Kenny talked me into riding the four wheeler with him. He was on one and I was on the other one. We rode all over his acreage… Kathy invited us to eat pot roast with them and it was so good. Then we came home to watch the super bowl game… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home