Mary's Place

A web page about the life of a lady who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's.

Location: Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States

I live in Piedmont, OK, with my Husband of 50 years who has been very supportive. We have 2 sons,David and Kenny, 6 grandkids, and 6 great grandkids. I enjoy feeding and watching the birds and squirrels. Before I was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, I ran a Licensed Day Care Home for Infants for 15 years. I noticed I wasn't able to remember important things and having problems with my speech. I was experiencing severe headaches. I would get lost. I didn't know how to use the computer. At the age of 55, I told my doctor. I was sent for an MRI. which showed a large amount of shrinkage. I went to a neurologist who sent me for two days of testing. I was diagnosed with dementia of the Alzheimer's type. My husband and I were both in shock. I had to give up my job. I went to see a social worker. I've taken Aricept for 11 years. I can now use the computer and even do this web page. I also host a chat room for dementia patients. This is a very lonely disease. I don't want anyone to feel as lonely as I did when I was diagnosed (I thought I was the only one over 50 that had Alzheimer's). In 2006 I started taking Namenda. Also I was told I have a mixed dementia, Alzheimer's/Vascular.

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Happy Birthday Peter!!! Peter is a DASNI friend in England…
I got woken up early this morning with pain in my legs…
Jamie our granddaughter and Allison and Matthew our great grandchildren flew in from Kentucky last night. They are staying with Kenny and Kathy. I am looking forward to seeing them tonight… Kathy called tonight to let us know we had deer on our acreage so Dave and I ran outside to see them. There were four or five deer out there between our house and our next-door neighbors…
I have been in a deleting mood today. I am hoping I didn’t delete anything I wasn’t supposed to… Goodnight All… Keeping The Faith In Oklahoma


Post a Comment

<< Home